Foundation Activities

Scholarships & Endowed Funds

Applications are now open for the 2016 Foundation Scholarship Program. Deadline for submission of the Uniform Scholarship Application is June 1 via the SmarterSelect site.

2015 Scholarship recipients announced -- please see the press release here.

The Theta Tau Educational Foundation Scholarship Program has been established and regularly awards scholarships to student members of Theta Tau to enable them to continue their engineering education. The recipients are selected on the basis of their academic achievements, their participation in campus and community activities, and/or on financial need. Theta Tau's goals of assisting our Brothers and recognizing and fostering high academic achievement among members is strengthened through this program. Alumni have endowed a number of named, permanent funds in their honor. These include funds honoring George P. Kalv, Gamma Beta 1947, Simon Ramo, Lambda '33, Robert L. Miller, Omicron 1941, and William S. Johnson, Rho 1942, Jeremy G. Chan, Tau Gamma '08, and J. B Ladd, Zeta '49. On the donation form (just before entering card information), there is an opportunity to designate your gift in honor of these members and funds.These funds join those others of the Foundation which include the Sigma, Upsilon, and Iota Beta Permanent Funds. Learn more about the visionary members who have endowed permanent scholarship funds. Since its inception less than a decade ago, the Foundation has awarded over $30,000 in scholarships to deserving student members.  Please link here to read more information about each of these generous and visionary alumni.

In 2015, additional endowed funds were established by Jim Cote, Beta '62 and Jeff Kellogg, Beta '66.  For a complete list of 2015 Scholarship recipients, please see the press release.

Leadership Academy


Theta Tau Leadership Academy held its inaugural session at The Ohio University in August 1999. The core Academy curricula is based on The Leadership Challenge (Kouzes-Posner). To date, well over 2,000 members have graduated from the foundation's national (three-day) or regional (one-day) leadership training academies. In the years just ahead, the Foundation hopes to continue to reach more student members with this valuable leadership training at the chapter and regional level. To date, national academies have been held at:

Ohio University - 1999
Ohio State University - 2001
Vanderbilt University - 2003
Washington University in St. Louis - 2005
Chicago University Conference Center - 2007
Washington University in St. Louis - 2009
Chicago University Conference Center - 2011
Washington University in St. Louis - 2013
Georgia Institute of Technology - 2015

Scholarship Mid
Academy Group Mid
You too can provide assistance to our Fraternity and Foundation beyond even your own lifetime. Contact the Central Office for more information on the Second Century Society!

Over 30 members have done so to date, and have informed our Central Office of their plans. We hope you will consider joining with them in securing Theta Tau's next century.

See the list of those generous and thoughtful alumni who have done so who are currently 2nd Century Society members.